Thursday, 17 April 2014

9 Rules To Break When Romancing a Rake (Love By Numbers #1) by Sarah MacLean

Paperback: 432 pages
Publisher: Piatkus (1 May 2014)
ISBN-13: 978-0749959661

A lady does not smoke cheroot. She does not ride astride. She does not fence or attend duels. She does not fire a pistol, and she never gambles at a gentlemen's club.

Lady Calpurnia Hartwell has always followed the rules, rules that have left her unmarried—and more than a little unsatisfied. And so she's vowed to break the rules and live the life of pleasure she's been missing.

But to dance every dance, to steal a midnight kiss—to do those things, Callie will need a willing partner. Someone who knows everything about rule-breaking. Someone like Gabriel St. John, the Marquess of Ralston—charming and devastatingly handsome, his wicked reputation matched only by his sinful smile.

If she's not careful, she'll break the most important rule of all—the one that says that pleasure-seekers should never fall hopelessly, desperately in love.

Cover: A pretty standard Regency romance novel, I don't love it, but I don't dislike it either.

I'd heard a lot of good things about this author, and in particular, this series.  When it showed up for review as a surprise, I couldn't wait to read it.
I blazed through this, reading it very quickly.
I thoroughly enjoyed it.
It's a cute, funny, sexy, quick, light and fluffy read that is perfect for regency fans.
I liked the fun characters, the humour, as well as the sexy sizzle between the protagonists Calpurnia and Gabriel.
I really felt for Callie, a spinster and wallflower, there are moments that made ma laugh, and moments where I really felt for her, and almost teared up for her.
I'm really looking forward to reading the next two books in this series.
I recommend for fans of Stephanie Laurens and Lisa Kleypas.
4.5/5 stars.

No comments:

Post a Comment